The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) is a professional certification group that certifies professionals and shops in the automotive repair and service industry in the United States and parts of Canada. It is an independent, non-profit organization created in 1972 in response to consumers needing to distinguish between potentially incompetent and competent automotive technicians. The organization aims to improve the quality of vehicle repair and service through the testing and certification of repair and service professionals.

ASE Certification

ASE offers certification tests for automotive professionals through Prometric Test Centers. These involve several exams, the passing of which, added with two years of relevant hands-on work experience, will merit certification. The required experience can be substituted by one year of on-the-job training and a two-year training degree. A recertification track is also offered for those who have had previous certification.

ASE certification is usually required by employers for those interested in pursuing a career in professional automotive service.

There are 15 different Automobile & Light Truck Certifications:

  • Engine Repair Certification
  • Automatic Transmission Certification
  • Manual Drive Train & Axles Certification
  • Suspension & Steering Certification
  • Brakes Certification
  • Electrical Systems Certification
  • Heating & Air Conditioning Certification
  • Engine Performance Certification
  • Light Vehicle Diesel Engine
  • Automobile Service Consultant Certification
  • Compressed Natural Gas Vehicle Certification
  • Auto Maintenance and Light Repair Certification
  • Advanced Engine Performance Specialist Certification
  • Light Duty Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist Certification
  • Exhaust Systems Certification

There are 9 different Medium/Heavy Truck Certifications:

  • Gasoline Engines Certification
  • Diesel Engines Certification
  • Drive Train Certification
  • Brakes Certification
  • Suspension and Steering Certification
  • Electrical/Electronic Systems Certification
  • Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Systems Certification
  • Preventive Maintenance Inspection (PMI) Certification
  • Electronic Diesel Engine Diagnosis Specialist Certification

There are 5 Collision Repair and Refinish Certifications:

  • Painting and Refinishing Certification
  • Non-Structural Analysis and Damage Repair Certification
  • Structural Analysis and Damage Repair Certification
  • Mechanical and Electrical Components Certification
  • Damage Analysis and Estimating Certification

There are 3 Parts Specialist Certifications:

  • Med/Hvy Truck Parts Specialist Certification
  • Automobile Parts Specialist Certification
  • General Motors Parts Consultant Certification

World Wide Car Service & Collision Repair Center is proud that our shop and technicians are certified by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence.